Coal County, Oklahoma Resources

Report elder neglect, abuse, financial exploitation Coal County Oklahoma.

Coal County was formed at statehood from the former Shappaway County (currently known as Atoka County) of the Pushmataha District of the Choctaw Nation in Indian Territory. A 3.5 miles strip of Coal County was taken from the Pontotoc District of the Chickasaw Nation. Initially, the Oklahoma legislature named Lehigh as the county seat, but a special election held in 1908 resulted in the citizens choosing Coalgate as the county seat. Lehigh tried to sue because more people voted than were registered, but no court would hear the case.



Adult Protective Services

Human Services Department
1 North Main Street
Coalgate, OK 74538
Phone: (580)927-2379

Human Services Department
801 South Greathouse Drive
Atoka, OK 74525
Phone: (580)889-3394


Meals / Nutrition:

Chickasaw Nation
P.O. Box 1548
Ada, OK 74821
Phone: (580)436-2603

Senior Citizen Center Tishomingo
1199 West Ray Branum Road
Tishomingo, OK 73460

Legal Resources:

Coal County Sheriff
4 North Main Street, Suite 8
Coalgate, OK
Phone: (580)735-2213

Custom Search
It is our goal to provide the most up-to-date information regarding identifying and reporting elder abuse, neglect and exploitation. If you would like to be referred to an attorney for assistance please complete this form.
Information Request Form
* Required
* *

Toss Your Business a Life Saver - $89/month Website Management.